Remote Blogging by Email

Kakaka

After my multiple posts in January about posting via Flickr to WordPress using email, I must apologize for never putting this method to use. I seem to have disappeared from blogdom without a word of explanation. I did try once to post via email during these last few months, but the Flickr requirement of including a picture seems to have messed me up. Since I connect to email in our remote village through a high frequency radio connection, attachments normally get separated from the message body.

Anyway, here’s where I’ve been…

January-April: My family moved to Madang for these months as I fulfilled the role of Academic Coordinator for all the new members of our organization arriving in the Pacific. Major responsibilities included teaching Tok Pisin (Melanesian Pidgin) and giving other lectures in Anthropology.

May: I barely made it out to our village in order to help do final checking of the Gospel of Luke for 4 related Austronesian languages. This was thoroughly enjoyable, especially working together with another translation consultant through the 24 chapters of this book.

I am now happily reunited with my family, and I am preparing to help check Luke for another group of 4 related languages in mid-July. I am also helping the 3 related languages that I normally advise to prepare their drafts of Luke for checking at the end of July.

In my next post, I’ll include the message that failed to survive the radio transmission earlier this month.

2 Responses to “Remote Blogging by Email”

  1. Mike Says:

    Welcome back! I was wondering when we’d here from you again. It sounds like you’ve had a busy winter/spring.

    I can relate (at least on the busyness). I’ll be finishing fieldmethods in two weeks and am in the process of editing a 50 page paper on Russian.

  2. bzephyr Says:

    Thanks Mike! Hope you’re having fun in Field Methods. I enjoyed it so much, I took it twice. Well, the first time around didn’t include any computer component, so I decided to take it again. It was Cantonese and Indonesian for me. Finish well, my friend.


Leave a Reply

